Pasta with Sausage and Peppers

Since I was enjoying the first of the season’s bell peppers, I decided to try this recipe from Great Food Fast, a simple pasta tossed with sausage and yellow bell peppers.  I revised this quite a bit, since I didn’t have linguine or turkey sausage, and I didn’t want to put in the peppery arugula (I’ve tried arugula before and haven’t liked the taste).  Here’s the recipe with my revisions:

Ingredients

  • salt and pepper
  • 1 lb. spaghetti
  • 1 lb. bulk sausage
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 4 yellow or red bell peppers
  • 4 Tb. butter

Directions

  1. Cook the spaghetti according to package directions, drain; reserve 1 1/2 cups of pasta water.  Return pasta to pot.
  2. Cook the sausage and 2 Tb. water until browned.
  3. Add garlic, peppers, and 1/4 cup of pasta water, cook until peppers soften.  Add 3/4 cup pasta water and butter.  Transfer all to pasta pot.  Add salt and pepper.  Toss; add more pasta water as needed.

1 thought on “Pasta with Sausage and Peppers

  1. Have you ever tried cooking arugula or have only tried it raw?

    Arugula is very good when cooked, as the peppery bite mellows quite a bit. It reminds me of spinach when cooked.

    However, I’m probably not a good judge because I LOVE arugula (it was an acquired taste though!) I also think that balancing arugula with a sweet dressing helps to tame its aggressive flavor.

Leave a comment