Ice Cream!

Recently I bought a new automatic ice cream maker.  I have one already, but it’s one where I have to add the ice and rock salt, and it ends up making a couple of quarts, much more than I can use before it gets iced over in the freezer and goes bad.  I’ve used it a few times, but often I don’t bother, as it takes too much effort and causes a mess.  So, I got this new one from Cuisinart.  The reason why I bought it–other than it makes only 1 1/2 quarts at a time–is because it has a freezing liquid inside its container.  That means I don’t need to have ice or rock salt ready, just take the container out of the freezer right before using it, and pour the ingredients in.  Very easy.  I’ve tried it twice already:

Strawberry ice cream

For this one, I found strawberries really cheap (99 cents/pound), so I decided to put them in the ice cream.  I think next time I’d drain the berries before adding them, as they ended up freezing harder than the rest of the ice cream mixture.  The flavor was good, though.

To try it a second time, I made Fudgesicle ice cream, which is really just milk and instant pudding.  For 1 1/2 quarts, it takes 3 cups milk and 2 (small) packages instant pudding.  I tried it this time with Devil’s Food pudding.  It’s excellent, and I think this summer I’ll try it with different pudding flavors.

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream!

  1. Pingback: The Summer So Far… « Love me, love my food.

  2. Pingback: Cherry Frozen Yogurt « Love me, love my food.

Leave a comment