Recipe: Zucchini Bars [Betty Crocker.com]

Zucchini Bars

Zucchini Bars

[This recipe I found online (I subscribe to Betty Crocker.com recipes) and tried it because I needed to easily and quickly finish up some zucchini. I made it for a picnic my boyfriend and I had in the park one evening. It turned out terrific–my boyfriend liked it. I’ve since made it three times this summer, and can almost make the recipe blindfolded. Very easy and tasty spice cake. Even though the recipe calls for nuts, I’ve never had any to put in, and I don’t miss them. I’ve added raisins instead, which add to the moisture in the cake. Overall a sweet, spicy, moist cake (not really a bar) that could be used any time of year, as long as you have a cup of shredded green stuff. EJF]

Bars
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup shredded zucchini, drained
1/2 cup chopped nuts
Spice Frosting
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon butter or margarine, softened
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
3 to 4 teaspoons milk

Print these coupons…
About Concordance™
1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease bottom and sides of 9- or 8-inch square pan. In large bowl, mix brown sugar, butter, vanilla and egg. Stir in flour, baking soda, cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon cloves. Stir in zucchini and nuts. Spread in pan.
2. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool completely, about 1 hour.
3. In medium bowl, mix all frosting ingredients until smooth and spreadable. Spread frosting over bars. For bars, cut into 6 rows by 4 rows.

Leave a comment